College Football Playoff Committee Keeps Playoff Format At Four Teams Until 2026

Syndication: Austin American-Statesman
Joshua L. Jones/Columbus Dispatch / USA TODAY NETWORK

The CFP executive director Bill Hancock told ESPN on Friday that the college football playoff will remain at four teams until 2026.

There has been much debate on this format amongst fans, and it is a mixed reaction. With the constant college football playoff blowouts, some fans think that will only continue if they expand to eight or twelve teams.

The other argument is that some more non power five schools get a chance to compete for a National Championship. Fans will have to wait till 2026 to get this situation resolved.

ESPN has more here.